Observercode in FITS header

Observercode in FITS header

Postby Erik Bryssinck » Thu Jul 30, 2020 10:06 am

I tried to send a spectrum to the AAVSO database, but I get the message that my observation code is not correct. I now notice that in the FITS header it says twice ',' behind the code. I use the BeSS function to send the observer code to the AVSO observer code. But I now notice that there are 2 comma's behind the code. Can this be changed ? In earlier versions of SPcAudace this appeared to work. I am now using version 5.0.

SPCAudace.JPG
SPCAudace.JPG (22.94 KiB) Viewed 4318 times
Erik Bryssinck
http://www.astronomie.be/erik.bryssinck/
LHiResIII + C11 + Trius SX814
Erik Bryssinck
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:31 am
Location: Kruibeke

Re: Observercode in FITS header

Postby Benjamin Mauclaire » Thu Jul 30, 2020 3:45 pm

Hi Erik,

Nice to read you.
How are you?

I will look for a patch. Actually you can modify this header's keyword with the following commands:
buf1 load your_spectrum.fit
buf1 setkwd [list "OBSERVER" "BERB" string "Observer name" ""]
buf1 set bitpix float
buf1 save your_spectrum_updated.fit

Nevertheless, have in mind that AAVSO database dosen't strictly follows Bess fits file and many observers complain when posting spectra there.

Benji
Spcaudace spectroscopy software: saving you hundred hours of frustration.
Benjamin Mauclaire
 
Posts: 257
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 10:14 am

Re: Observercode in FITS header

Postby Erik Bryssinck » Fri Jul 31, 2020 7:36 am

Hi Benji,

Thanks for your reply !
all is fine with me, thanks, we do our best to stay healthy. Hope you ar in good health as well.

I tried the commands you're mentioned below:
buf1 load your_spectrum.fit
buf1 setkwd [list "OBSERVER" "BERB" string "Observer name" ""]
buf1 set bitpix float
buf1 save your_spectrum_updated.fit


with the commandline buf1 set bitpix float, i get an error that 'subcommand is missing'

as result , i get a very weird spectrum with only vertical lines. I checked the observername, and now it is correct, without the 2 comma's, but the spectrum is changed.
Attachments
screenshot_spectrum.JPG
screenshot_spectrum.JPG (63.36 KiB) Viewed 4269 times
Erik Bryssinck
http://www.astronomie.be/erik.bryssinck/
LHiResIII + C11 + Trius SX814
Erik Bryssinck
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:31 am
Location: Kruibeke

Re: Observercode in FITS header

Postby Benjamin Mauclaire » Fri Jul 31, 2020 12:49 pm

Hi,

Here his the correct command: buf1 bitpix float.
Although the spectrum you saved is now built with integer values. So put it to rubish. I hope you have a copy of the original.
This was why I named differently the output spectrum in my previous post.

Benji
Spcaudace spectroscopy software: saving you hundred hours of frustration.
Benjamin Mauclaire
 
Posts: 257
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 10:14 am

Re: Observercode in FITS header

Postby Erik Bryssinck » Sun Aug 02, 2020 10:20 am

Hi Benji,

all works fine now with the commands you gave me.
Upload to AAVSO database, was succesfull now.

Thanks !

best regards
Erik
Erik Bryssinck
http://www.astronomie.be/erik.bryssinck/
LHiResIII + C11 + Trius SX814
Erik Bryssinck
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:31 am
Location: Kruibeke


Return to Software SpcAudace

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

x